Suncoast Quilting Circle

Log in


Upcoming events

    • Wednesday, January 27, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 81
    Register

    Work on your projects, ask for or give advice, or just chat on coffee hour Wednesday.

    • Monday, February 01, 2021
    • 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 85
    Register

    Bring your preferred beverage and a sewing project and have fun! This is a great time to finish that binding or unpick mistakes!  Work on whatever makes you happy!

    • Wednesday, February 03, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 76
    Register

    View the contenders and vote for the winners of the President's Challenge and QOV Challenge

    • Saturday, February 06, 2021
    • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST)
    • Online
    Register

    QOVF #NSD2021 the (Virtual) National Sew Day V.1!

    For many years, we have gathered to sew, have fun and make Quilts of Valor on the first Saturday of February and 2021 will be no different! Well, maybe slightly different…

    Member Groups, those who support the QOVF cause, quilt industry supporters and individuals throughout the US will meet to sew, have fun and make Quilts of Valor. Tammany, Ginger and Allison will be hosting a live online event on the traditional day – Saturday, February 6, 2021.

    QOVF will have surprise announcements, pre-recorded guests, pictures from last year’s NSD, and some special live guests throughout the day, starting at 0900 with the Pledge of Allegiance.

    Prizes throughout the day will abound and thanks to wonderful partner Janome, QOVF has a Janome 3160QOV for the big finale! All registrants are eligible for the random prizes, but only active QOVF members that register for #NSD2021 will be put into the random drawing for the Janome 3160QOV. QOVF will raffle the grand prize at 4:00PM EST.

    Sign up and start thinking about how you will #NSD2021!

    This is an event announcement for the official QOVF event.  SQC may have a companion Zoom activity.  You must register via the "Sign up and start thinking... " link above to register with QOVF for their program. 

    • Wednesday, February 10, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 90
    Register

    Work on your projects, ask for or give advice, or just chat on coffee hour Wednesday.

    • Monday, February 15, 2021
    • 7:00 PM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 82
    Register


     MINIMAL DESIGN, MAXIMUM IMPACT 
    The modern quilting movement is evolving and changing, but one thing remains consistent: simple, spare design combined with thoughtful quilting make an outstanding combination. This talk gives an overview of my process for coming up with simple graphic quilt designs, starting with stitched paper models (called maquettes). I show examples of how to translate an architectural photo into a quilt design, and have many samples of mini quilts I created using this process. The techniques I present are also great for making unique modern quilt block designs. I also talk about walking foot quilting and how to break free from stitch in the ditch. 

    https://davidowenhastings.com

    SQC Members - FREE

    Non-Members - $10 registration

    • Wednesday, February 17, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 88
    Register

    Get inspired, be inspiring as you view or share your recent projects.  This is an informal gathering to showcase member projects.

    • Wednesday, February 24, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EST)
    • Zoom
    • 90
    Register

    Work on your projects, ask for or give advice, or just chat on coffee hour Wednesday.

    • Wednesday, May 05, 2021
    • 10:00 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 90
    Register

    Circular Patchwork

    The basic design of this quilt is that of a mock cathedral window. The front fabric forms the window, which is framed when the back fabric is folded to the front side of the quilt. This makes it reversible with each side giving a different look. The lecture includes tips for how to make the quilt, different options as well as quilting tips. 


    • Wednesday, September 01, 2021
    • 10:09 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 89
    Register

    SQC Members:  Free

    Non-members are welcome to register:  Tickets are $10.

Past events

Wednesday, January 20, 2021 Sew and Tell
Monday, January 18, 2021 Night Meeting: String Quilts by Alberta Dalke
Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, January 06, 2021 Resizing and Scaling Patterns January 2021
Monday, January 04, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 09, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Monday, December 07, 2020 Sip & Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 02, 2020 Holiday Party 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, November 04, 2020 Sheri Cifaldi-Morrill
Monday, November 02, 2020 Sip & Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 Sew and Tell October 2020
Wednesday, October 07, 2020 Timna Tarr Lecture & Trunk Show
Wednesday, October 07, 2020 Business Meeting: Vote on Slate of Officers for 2021
Wednesday, September 23, 2020 Business Meeting: Vote on Bylaws & Interim Plan
Wednesday, September 02, 2020 General Meeting
Wednesday, August 26, 2020 Board Meeting

Our mission is to preserve and promote the art of quilt making, stimulate interest through educating members and the public, and engage in projects for the community where needed and appropriate.   


Suncoast Quilting Circle
PO Box 47764
St. Petersburg,  FL 33743

SuncoastQuiltingCircle@yahoo.com 


Copyright 2020 Suncoast Quilting Circle

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software