Suncoast Quilting Circle

Log in


Upcoming events

    • Wednesday, May 19, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 76
    Register

    Get inspired, be inspiring as you view or share your recent projects.  This is an informal gathering to showcase member projects.

    • Saturday, May 22, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • Sunday, May 23, 2021
    • (EDT)
    • 2 sessions
    • Zoom
    • 56
    Register

    Come enjoy a fantastic zoom classroom experience! Learn lots of quilting techniques from some of the best teachers around! Come when you can, stay as long as you’d like! 

    This jam-packed and exciting sampler platter is sure to be a rollicking good time for everyone! Experience some of the best teachers the virtual world has to offer in this live zoom event offered by the Global Quilt Connection. An All-Star cast of 18 quilt teachers will demonstrate some of their favorite quilting techniques, showcasing a wide variety of styles and techniques. You’ll see everything from traditional to modern and art quilting techniques.

    Come when you can, stay as long as you’d like, grab a cuppa and join the fun. Between each 15 minute demo we will offer short and entertaining zoom tutorials that will help you get the most out of a zoom workshop. If you haven’t yet had the opportunity to experience a live zoom class, this is your perfect risk-free opportunity to check it out. Each teacher will demonstrate her Zoomin’-awesome teaching style so you can get a good feel of how wonderful virtual classes can be.


    • Wednesday, May 26, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 81
    Register

    Work on your projects, ask for or give advice, or just chat on coffee hour Wednesday.

    • Wednesday, June 02, 2021
    • 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 74
    Register

    Summer Shop-Hop with Sew Modern Chicky and Grubers Quilt Shop

    For this virtual shop-hop we will be welcoming Paula Hagan from Sew Modern Chicky followed by Sue Poser from Grubers.

    Paula, who will be our first presenter at 10am, has lots of beautiful modern fabrics that she loves to talk about and sell. Each fabric Paula shows us will have an associated item number and members can place an order for the quantity needed via the ZOOM chat box. Paula will go through the chat box after the event and email invoices to each purchaser. Alternatively, if you make a note of the fabric number,  you can email an order to Paula after the event. More specific instructions will be provided on the day.

    After a short interlude to refresh your coffee, Sue will join us at 11am to showcase everything new and exciting that Grubers Quilt Shop, Minnesota's ultimate quilting destination and the largest quilting and yarn store in the Midwest, has to offer.

    SQC Members:  Free

    Non-members are welcome to register:  Tickets are $10.

    • Wednesday, September 01, 2021
    • 10:09 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 79
    Register

    Join Kim Caskey, Celtic Quilt Tours’ Co-Host, for a virtual tour of the Tokyo International Great Quilt Festival! 

    SQC Members:  Free

    Non-members are welcome to register:  Tickets are $10.

    • Wednesday, November 03, 2021
    • 10:00 AM (EDT)
    • Zoom
    • 86
    Register

    LUKE Haynes - Designer and Quilting Artist

    Subverting the traditional quilting form by integrating modern concepts, his art transforms the comfortably familiar into the visually evocative. Luke Haynes was born and raised across the American South. With a formal training in art and architecture at Cooper Union, New York, Haynes continues to experiment with quilting art while exploring art and architecture across the globe.

    A chance encounter with a box of fabric remnants sparked Mr. Haynes' imagination. His first quilt, measuring 7′ x 10′, led him through years of experimentation and improvements over the years that he has been quilting.  Further honing his style, Mr. Haynes developed a system to piece manageable parts into a larger whole, applying a modern design sense to a familiar process. He uses reclaimed materials from the communities he works with in his projects to speak with the textile language of the area.

    SQC Members:  Free

    Non-members are welcome to register:  Tickets are $10.

Past events

Monday, May 17, 2021 Night Meeting: What Makes a Quilt Modern? by Carole Lyles Shaw
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, May 05, 2021 Circular Patchwork with Alberta Dalke
Monday, May 03, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 Sew and Tell
Monday, April 19, 2021 Night Meeting: Spring Block Show & Raffle
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, April 07, 2021 Stash-Buster 3 with Mary-Jeanine Ibarguen
Monday, April 05, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Saturday, April 03, 2021 WORKSHOP: MINI MID-MOD QUILTS w/David Owen Hastings
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, March 17, 2021 Sew and Tell
Monday, March 15, 2021 Night Meeting: Eight Point Floating Star Block and Quilts Of Valor with speaker Norene Dagly
Wednesday, March 10, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, March 03, 2021 Spring Shop-Hop with Marcia Layton Designs and MK Quilts
Monday, March 01, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, February 24, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 Sew and Tell
Monday, February 15, 2021 Night Meeting: David Owen Hastings
Wednesday, February 10, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Saturday, February 06, 2021 QOVF National Sew Day
Wednesday, February 03, 2021 President's Challenge and QOV Challenge
Monday, February 01, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, January 27, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 Sew and Tell
Monday, January 18, 2021 Night Meeting: String Quilts by Alberta Dalke
Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, January 06, 2021 Resizing and Scaling Patterns January 2021
Monday, January 04, 2021 Sip and Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 09, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Monday, December 07, 2020 Sip & Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, December 02, 2020 Holiday Party 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Coffee Hour Chat (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, November 04, 2020 Sheri Cifaldi-Morrill
Monday, November 02, 2020 Sip & Sew (Cottage Group)
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 Sew and Tell October 2020
Wednesday, October 07, 2020 Timna Tarr Lecture & Trunk Show
Wednesday, October 07, 2020 Business Meeting: Vote on Slate of Officers for 2021
Wednesday, September 23, 2020 Business Meeting: Vote on Bylaws & Interim Plan
Wednesday, September 02, 2020 General Meeting
Wednesday, August 26, 2020 Board Meeting

Our mission is to preserve and promote the art of quilt making, stimulate interest through educating members and the public, and engage in projects for the community where needed and appropriate.   


Suncoast Quilting Circle
PO Box 47764
St. Petersburg,  FL 33743

SuncoastQuiltingCircle@yahoo.com 


Copyright 2021 Suncoast Quilting Circle

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software